va-arizonaREC Solar, Inc., a California-based solar company, will erect America’s largest solar carport, installing a 2.9 megawatt system over several parking lots at an Arizona VA hospital.

The installation will add to a 302 kW single-axis tracker mounted system that REC Solar is scheduled to complete for the hospital this month.

The combined PV systems will significantly offset energy demand from the local utility grid for the more than 900,000 square foot medical center – generating over 5,200,000 kWh annually, the equivalent of the carbon dioxide emissions from consuming over 420,000 gallons of gasoline.

The existing 302 kW single-axis tracker system increases overall production by changing its orientation to directly face the sun throughout the day, a first for VA facilities nationwide. The 2.9 MW carport will cover seven separate parking areas.

“This installation offers a tremendous opportunity for Arizona, and acts as a model for the rest of America,” said Arizona Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords. “It is becoming more and more evident that solar addresses some of the largest challenges we currently face, and SAVAHCS is proactively addressing these issues.”

Related articles–>

Want to solar-charge your home — and your next car?
Contact a REC Solar representative from your region today — and tell them you were referred by us, SolarChargedDriving.Com!

California
South and East L.A., Orange County, Riverside County and San Diego
Audrey Cordell
Phone: (805) 547-2600
e-mail: acordell@recsolar.com

California
North and West L.A., Palm Springs/Desert, Ventura, Santa Barbara, Central Coast
*Also — Hawaii and Oregon

Seth Pearson
Phone: (805) 540-7602
e-mail: spearson@recsolar.com

California
Bay and North Bay
Evan Sarkisian
Phone: (408) 747-2484
e-mail: esarkisian@recsolar.com

California
Sacramento, Central Valley and Bakersfield
Ted Vergis

Phone: (805) 540-7642
tvergis@recsolar.com

Colorado
Brian Sharpe

Phone: (303) 859-7704
e-mail: bsharpe@recsolar.com

Arizona
Andrew Frederick
Phone: (805) 547-2635
e-mail: afrederick@recsolar.com

rec-solar-logo

Leave a Reply